How to Use the Safety Check Feature on Your iPhone

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp


How to Use Safety Check Feature on iPhone

This article explains how to use the Safety Check feature on your iPhone, including how to activate an emergency reset if you’re trying to escape a dangerous situation. Safety Check is not available in iOS 15 and earlier. If your phone does not have Security Check, you can manually disable location services.

How to perform an emergency reset with Safety Check

Emergency Reset is an option in Safety Check that allows you to immediately reset all access to your personal information that you have previously provided to apps and others. It doesn’t tell anyone that you have stopped sharing with them. It also forces you to change your Apple ID password, in case someone else might have obtained that information.

While using Safety Check, at any time you can press Quick Exit at the top right of the screen to immediately return to the desktop.

Here’s how to perform an emergency reset with the Safety Check feature:

1. Open Settings and scroll down.

2. Press Privacy and Security.

3. Scroll down and tap Safety Check.

Tap Safety Check

4. Press Emergency reset.

5. Authenticate with Touch-ID or your pin code.

6. Press Start emergency reset.

Tap Start emergency reset

7. Press Reset contacts and apps.

8. Press Resetthen follow the onscreen prompts to change your Apple ID password, review account security, and add or remove emergency contacts.

Perform an emergency reset with Safety Check

9. All access to your personal information will be revoked immediately. You can then change your Apple ID and password and review your account security.

How to Use Safety Check Feature on iPhone

While Emergency Reset is designed to help you immediately cut off access to your data if you find yourself in danger, Safety Check can also help you keep a close eye on your privacy settings, whether you’re currently in a bad situation. or simply want to take control of your personal information.

To customize access to your information with Safety Check, you can use the Manage Sharing & Access feature:

1. Open Settings and press Privacy and Security.

2. Press Safety Check.

Tap Safety Check

3. Press Manage sharing and access.

4. Authenticate with Touch-ID or your pin code.

5. Press Continue.

Use the Safety Check feature on iPhone

6. Follow the on-screen prompts to select who you want to share your location and information with, which apps you want to get your location data for, and review your other privacy and security settings.

What is the Safety Check function?

Apple describes Safety Check as a tool for users trying to escape abusive relationships, and it’s also useful for anyone who needs to control who has access to their private information and location data. Security control consists of two main tools: emergency reset and sharing and access management.

If you’ve ever shared your location on iPhone or iPad, the emergency reset feature revokes access to your information from anyone you’ve shared it with. It also resets granted access to any app you’ve provided in the past, signs you out of iCloud on all devices other than the one you currently have, and prompts you to create a new Apple ID and password. password in case you have shared them with people in the past. This feature is designed primarily to help victims of domestic violence, prevent their partners from using their phone to stalk or harass, or make it harder for the victim to get help.

The Manage Sharing & Access feature provides granular control over who and what apps have access to your data. Instead of instantly revoking anything, it lets you audit who you’ve shared your information and location with and which apps have access to that data. This tool can be useful for users trying to escape abusive situations, but it’s also a useful audit for anyone who wants to stay in control of their privacy and security.

Can other people know when you use the Safety Check function?

When you use Safety Check to revoke access to your location data, the people whose access you revoke are not notified. However, if someone used this data to track you, they will eventually notice that their access has been revoked.

If you have any questions or suggestions, let us know in the comments. Also consult this guide if you want to learn how to use a VPN on your iPhone.


FAQs

How do I stop sharing my location on an iPhone?

To stop sharing your location on an iPhone, go to Settings > your name > Locate, then tap the slider to change it from green to white. To turn off location sharing for all apps and services, go to Settings > Privacy > Location services and disable the location services.

How can I stop sharing my location on an iPhone without them knowing?

If you temporarily don’t want anyone to know your location, put your iPhone on airplane mode. Or, open Locatetap the person’s name, then tap Stop sharing my location. Another option: use another iPhone or iPad to set your location and turn off location sharing on your primary device.

Does iPhone Notify You When You Stop Sharing Your Location?

No. If you access Locatetap the person’s name, then tap Stop sharing my location, it will not be notified. However, they will no longer see your name in their friends list, which may indicate that you have stopped sharing your location with them.



Source link

Leave a Reply

Table of Contents