How to sync settings between devices on Windows 10

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp


Take control of Windows 10 and sync only the settings you want across all devices.

On Windows 10, if you sign in with a Microsoft account, you can sync the most important settings on your devices that you set up with the same account.

When the feature is enabled, you can sync your Microsoft Edge settings, passwords, language preferences, and various other settings including printer, mouse, File Explorer settings, and notification preferences.

Microsoft added this feature because syncing your settings helps maintain a consistent experience. However, this is not a feature for everyone, so many times you might want to keep the configurations separate. If that’s your case, Windows 10 gives you control over exactly which settings you want to keep synchronized between devices. You can even turn off the feature, if you want to configure your devices differently.

In this guide, you will learn the steps to select the settings you want to sync between Windows 10 devices or turn it off completely.

Enable or disable sync settings on Windows 10

To turn synchronization on or off for your settings, use these steps:

  1. Open the settings on Windows 10.
  2. Click on Accounts.
  3. Click on Synchronize your settings.
  4. Turn on or off the switch Sync settings toggle to turn the feature on or off. Enable sync settings

Once you have completed the steps, the feature will start syncing your settings between devices. If you have disabled the option, the settings will not sync and you will need to configure the settings for each device.

Change sync settings on Windows 10

To change sync settings on Windows 10, use these steps:

  1. Settings open.
  2. Click on Accounts.
  3. Click on Synchronize your settings.
  4. Turn the toggle switch on or off for each for the settings you want to sync:
    • Theme (deprecated).
    • Past.
    • Language preferences.
    • Other Windows settings.

Change sync settings Change sync settings

Once you complete the steps, only the settings you selected will sync between devices when using the same Microsoft account.

While the ability to sync your current theme is still available, it will be removed in future versions of Windows 10.



Source link

Leave a Reply