How to share folders, files and documents on Google Drive

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp


It’s quite easy share folders, files Yes documents at Google drive. Obviously, one of the most popular cloud storage services, it has some great options for sharing any kind of document or folder. In this article, we’ll learn how to get, and if necessary, how to stop sharing a document in Drive.

Share folders, files, and documents on Google Drive

With the cloud storage service, we can share the folders or documents in Drive directly using just the email address. We can also do this through an invite link and share it on any website. The process for sharing a document or a folder containing multiple files is the same.

By default, all the documents we have in Google Drive are private, no one can access them. However, whenever we see one we will have the option to share them by clicking on the button that says “Share” in the upper right corner of the screen.

Share the file.

From the same file explorer interface, we can share the files we want. To do this, we will have to right click on the one we want to share and simply select the “Share” option.

Once that is clear, we go to the menu that will appear when we select the “Share” option. It will be divided into two parts. If we want to add a specific person, we can add the email address at the top of this window.

Add people or groups.

In the box that says “Add people or groups”, we will have to search for a person that we have as a contact or directly add the email address of that person.

In this option we can add up to 100 people. Then we will have a drop down menu where we can choose the number of permissions we grant to the file in question and the options are:

  • Editor: you will be able to view, comment on and edit the entire document in question. Ideal for sharing with trusted people or colleagues.
  • Commentator – The person can view the content and add comments, but cannot edit the file.
  • Viewer: The person will be able to see the content, but they will not be able to edit it or leave comments.
  • We will need to make sure that the “Notify people” option is enabled. This way, they will receive an email informing them of the shared document.

    If we wish, we can add a comment or a personal note. Once everything is ready, all you have to do is click on the “Send” button to be able to send the invitation.

    Share Google Drive files using a link

    Another alternative that we have is the possibility of share documents with anyone on the web without even knowing their email address. For that, we’ll have to look for the “Get Link” option which is just below the one we talked about earlier.

    Change anyone with the link.

    We will have to click on “Change to anyone with the link”.

    We are changing the role of each guest user.

    When we do, new options will appear so that we can choose the level of access that everyone who accesses through this link will have. By default, you can only view the document, you will not be able to edit or leave comments.

    However, in the drop-down menu on the right side, we can change this to “Editor” or “Commentator”.

    We copy the link and share it on the web.  This way we can share folders and documents in Google Drive

    Once everything is ready, we will need to click on the “Copy Link” button which is just to the right of the file link. This link is the one we will have share on the web so that other people can access the document.

    Stop sharing a document or files on Google Drive

    Sometimes we will want to stop sharing different files. Just like we have two options to share them, we can also stop doing it and it is very easy to get it.

    Right click and share the file.

    The first thing to do is to click on the “Share” button in the toolbar of the document in question. Then we will right click on the Google Drive file and we will have to choose “Share”.

    Remove file sharing permissions.

    Here we will be able to see all the users who have access to this document. All we have to do is click on the drop-down menu to the right of each one and choose “Delete” or “Delete”. In this way, we will be able to eliminate the user and he will no longer have access to the document or folder.

    Rest mode.

    If you share the link and we want to disable it. We’re just going to have to click “Share” in the document and look for the “Get Link” option at the bottom. Next, we’re going to click on the drop-down menu that says “Anyone with a link” and we’ll change it to “Restricted”.

    This way we can stop sharing a Drive document.

    Now, no one will be able to enter the document. You will not be able to view, edit or comment on it. When we have finished making changes, we simply click on “Done”.

    Share this with your friends!



    Source link

    Related Posts

    Leave a Reply

    Related Posts

    Table of Contents