How to reset your Mac and get it ready for sale

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp


If you are planning to buy a new Mac and plan to sell your old one, obviously you will need to do some spring cleaning to make sure that whoever you sell your Mac to will not have access to your accounts and files. .

Deleting your files directly from the drive just won’t be enough, so here are the steps you will need to take before selling it.

READ ALSO: How to use your camera as a webcam without additional hardware

Back up your files

If you haven’t already, you’ll want to create a backup of your files. This is just for posterity where you will want to make sure that you will still have access to your files in the event that some time later you may or may not need to access them again.

Sign out of iTunes and deauthorize the computer

Apple places a limit on the number of Mac computers you can have that are logged into the same iTunes account. You don’t want to run into issues in the future where you run out of authorized computers, so you will definitely want to revoke the authorization from the computer you are selling and log out (for macOS Mojave or earlier).

  1. Launch iTunes
  2. Go to Account> Permissions> Unauthorize this computer
  3. Enter your Apple ID and password
  4. Click Cancel Authorization

Sign out of iCloud

If you’re using macOS Catalina or later:

  1. Click Apple menu> System Preferences
  2. Click on Apple ID
  3. Go to overview
  4. Click on Logout

For those using macOS Mojave or earlier:

  1. Click Apple menu> System Preferences
  2. Click iCloud
  3. Click on Logout

Logging out of iMessage

If you’re using a Mac running OS X Mountain Lion or later:

  1. Launch messages
  2. Go to Messages> Preferences
  3. Click iMessage
  4. Click on Logout

Unpair all your Bluetooth devices

In theory, factory reset on your Mac should remove all paired Bluetooth devices, but if you want to be safer that there are no persistent connections, you can choose to unpair all your Bluetooth devices first. .

  1. Click Apple menu> System Preferences
  2. Select bluetooth
  3. Select the devices you want to unpair and click the “X” button next to their name
  4. Repeat the process for each device you paired with your Mac

Also read: How to use Windows apps on a Mac

Erase your Mac’s hard drive

Now that you’ve signed out of all of your accounts and unlinked your Bluetooth devices, the next step is to erase the contents of your hard drive.

  1. Restart your Mac
  2. Once you see the splash screen, press Command + R to enter macOS recovery mode
  3. Select Disk Utility
  4. Click on View> Show all devices
  5. The primary drive your Mac boots into will be listed at the top
  6. Select the drive you want to erase and click Erase
    1. Before the erasing process begins, you can choose the format you want to use for the drive after it has been erased.
  7. Once you are happy with the settings, click Clear. You may be prompted to enter your Apple ID for verification before continuing.
  8. Exit Disk Utility.

Reinstall macOS

Now that the content on your Mac has been wiped out, it might be a good idea to reinstall a fresh copy of macOS just to make sure there isn’t any persistent content or settings that might be associated with you.

  1. Restart your Mac
  2. Once you see the splash screen, press Command + R to enter macOS recovery mode
  3. Select Reinstall macOS
  4. Click Continue and follow the onscreen instructions
  5. If you are prompted to choose between Macintosh HD or Macintosh HD – Data, select Macintosh HD
  6. Once the installation is complete and restarted on the main macOS screen, press Command + Q to exit the wizard and shut down the computer. Your Mac should now be ready to be passed on or sold to someone else!



Source link

Leave a Reply