How to reset a MacBook Pro?

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp


Suitable for both home and professional use, the MacBook Pro is highly appreciated by its users both for its ergonomics and for its technical performance. However, there may be different reasons for resetting or restoring it to an earlier date. This article explains how to do this for each step.

And if you want to know how reset your iphone, it’s this way.

Why reset your MacBook Pro?

There are several scenarios that require you to reset your MacBook Pro. Maybe you are having problems with:

  • Regular or even permanent system slowdowns
  • Viruses, malware, Trojans, ransomware or any other ailments due to many computer threats (if you want to know how to choose an antivirus, it’s this way).
  • Repeated system errors that prevent you from taking full advantage of your hardware’s functionality

You may also need to reset it to factory settings in order to resell or give it away. You will need to format your computer by deleting all of its data in order to prevent the use of your personal information for illegal purposes.

Before starting a full system reset, are you familiar with NVRAM (or PRAM)?

If you’re having slow startup, sound, or even display issues on your MacBook Pro, you don’t necessarily need to reset it to factory settings.

The NVRAM, or PRAM, is non-volatile direct access memory that can help you correct some problems. To reset it, follow these steps:

  • Click on the apple icon located at the top left of your screen
  • Select Switch off or To restart
  • When restarting, holding the keys together Command OptionP and R
  • Enter your username and password.

Some preferences like sound setting will need to be reprogrammed. If you don’t see any improvement, you’ll need to either reset your MacBook Pro to an earlier or factory defaults.

How to restore MacBook Pro to an earlier date?

If you notice bugs on your MacBook or recent slowdowns, just like with Windows, you can restore your Mac OS to a previous state. Software downloads, settings changes, update installation, etc. may considerably affect the performance of your machine, if despite attempts to clean your mac, your problem is not solved, before embarking on a complete reset, restoring your system to an earlier date may be a first solution.

You will first need to configure the application Time Machine so that you can create backups of your files. To do this, you will need to use an external device that has enough free space to collect all the data from your internal hard drive. Once your external device is connected to your MacBook Pro, a window displaying the message Do you want to use the disk to make a backup with Time Machine ? “. Click on Use a backup disk to continue.

If your external device doesn’t generate a confirmation message, don’t panic, it happens. All you have to do is click on the apple menu > System Preferences > Time Machine > Backup disk > Select your external device> Click on the option Using the Disc > click on Add or Remove a Backup Disc to ensure the security of your data.

Once Time Machine is configured, this application will automatically back up your data daily and allow you to restore your system to an earlier date.

To do this, run OS X Recovery Tool while simultaneously holding the keys Command and R on your MacBook Pro when it starts up or restarts. Select Restore from Time Machine Backup > Choose the one that was created before the observation of bugs or slowdowns and wait until the end of the system restore.

If you do not have the Time Machine tool, you will not have options to create backups, so you will need to perform a factory reset if you want to restore your system.

What is the procedure for resetting a MacBook Pro to factory defaults?

Resetting your computer to factory settings is like resetting your system. This operation will therefore involve the removal of all the modifications that you may have made to your MacBook Pro since its purchase. This will include customizing the settings of its operating system OS, the software you have installed and the stored files (documents, photos, videos, music, etc.). Please understand that this reset will permanently delete all of your data. This is why we strongly recommend that you make at least one backup copy of your computer on an external device (USB key, external hard drive, SD card, etc.) before starting this operation.

How to back up data on my MacBook Pro before it is factory reset?

As we have just mentioned, before you start resetting your MacBook Pro, backing up your data is an essential step if you do not want to lose it permanently. To do this, several possibilities are available to you. The most common is to use an external device and transfer the data you want to keep to it. Of course, depending on the volume to be transferred, the speed of the flow and the storage capacity of your USB key, hard drive or even SD card, the procedure may turn out to be shorter or longer.

You can also use the Time Machine feature we talked about earlier for backing up your data. If you prefer this option, all you have to do is launch the application> Select Choose a backup disk > Choose the location where you want to find your files.

Finally, you can opt to backup your data by syncing them or cloning the system with iCloud: Go to System Preferences > iCloud > Engage a copy of the system and its contents.

Disconnect Apple Accounts Before Resetting MacBook Pro

An essential step before starting the reset procedure, in order to avoid any unauthorized or fraudulent use of your personal data, it is essential to disconnect your iTunes account as well as your iCloud by removing the access permissions.

For iTunes, open the app then select Account > Authorizations > Remove access permission from this computer. You will be asked for your username and password, enter them then select Cancel authorization.

Regarding the iCloud account registered on your MacBook Pro, this is one of the most important steps. To remove it, here is how to proceed depending on the MacOs version you are using:

If your computer is running MacOS Catalina or later, click on the Apple menu > System Preferences > Apple ID top right> Overview (in the sidebar)> Logout

If you use Mac OS Mojave or earlier, click on the Apple menu > System Preferences > iCloud > Logout

You will be able to keep a copy of all of your data during this step so that your data stays in your iCloud. You will also be able to uncheck certain options such as the personalization of the Safari browser or the geolocation of the device. Disconnecting your iMessage e-mail is also one of the authorization blocks to be carried out.

For further : How to transfer iCloud photos to computer? and how turn off iCloud ?

Reset MacBook Pro

Once all the previous steps have been completed, you will be able to start the reset procedure. This takes place in two stages:

Formatting the hard drive

Please note, it is during this step that all your data will be deleted, so check that they have been backed up and that your iCloud account has been removed. Also ensure the quality of your internet connection before you start and connect your equipment to the mains.

If you are ready, restart your MacBook Pro in safe mode. When the Mac OS utility appears, select disk utility then on Carry on. In the drop-down menu, select the main hard drive usually named Macintosh HD then click on Wipe off.

Then exit Disk Utility to return to the Utilities window.

Reinstall Mac OS to complete reset MacBook Pro

Once back on the window Utilities, select Reinstall Mac OS to finalize the reset of your MacBook Pro and follow the instructions that appear on the screen. Be sure to select the initial location (the one that was formatted earlier) before validating the procedure. Your computer downloading the latest available version during this step, this is the reason why we recommended earlier that you make sure you have a good internet connection.

Once the installation is complete (note that it can take longer or shorter from one system to another and can range from 40 minutes on average to several hours), Mac OS will restart.

Once this step is completed, you will have to choose the language then enter your username and password. If you want to resell it or give it away, of course, leave nothing so that its future owner can connect with his own identifiers.

Resetting your MacBook Pro is complete!

As you will have understood, resetting the system of your MacBook Pro is a delicate and tedious operation that requires a lot of patience if you want to keep your privacy and protect yourself from hackers.

Remember that you can us resell your computer equipment and take advantage of the resale money to give you another more recent refurbished MacBook Pro on our site!





Source link

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Related Posts

Table of Contents