How to export and delete saved passwords in Chrome

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp


While Chrome’s password manager is comfortable, it’s not the most secure of all, either. That is why it is recommended export and delete saved passwords in Chrome for use in a third-party password manager, which is considerably more secure.

We will start by opening the browser on our computer. Now we are going to click on our profile icon which is in the upper right corner of the screen, right next to the three vertical dots. A small window opens where we will have to click on the icon in the form of a key which would be the “Passwords” icon.

Another alternative would be to open a new tab and write “chrome: // settings / passwords” without the quotes.

We will look for the possibility of exporting passwords.

Once we are in the passwords section, we will need to go to “Saved Passwords” and click on the icon with the three vertical dots on the right side.

Several options will not appear. In fact, in fact, only the one for “Export passwords” appears, so we’ll click on it. A pop-up window will open and we will have to click on the “Export passwords” button, which is blue.

In some cases, the computer may ask you to verify our identity by entering its password. If the poster appears asking for your computer or account password, you will need to enter it.

Once we have done that we will just have to choose where we want to save the CSV file with the passwords and then we just click on “Save”.

We now have the CSV file with all the passwords. We can import this file into another browser or even into a password manager.

Once we have all the exported passwords, it is best to remove them from Chrome for security reasons. There is a way to delete all login keys quickly and we’ll show you what it is next.

The first thing we are going to do is click on the three dots that are in the upper right corner of Chrome so that a new menu will appear where we click on “Settings”.

It directs us to a new page where we should look for the “Privacy and Security” section. In this section we can see that there is the option “Clear browsing data” which we are going to click.

Now we will have to go to the “Advanced” tab and in the drop-down menu, where it says “Time”, we will have to select “Always”. We will uncheck all options except the one that says “Passwords and other login information”.

Next, we will click on the blue button under “Delete Data” and wait for it to finish deleting all the saved passwords in our browser. In this way, all the passwords that you have in the browser and in the Google account associated with it are deleted.

Share this with your friends!



Source link

Leave a Reply