How to delete or deactivate an Instagram account

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp

Want to deactivate or delete your Instagram account? The app unfortunately does not allow you to do this directly, but thanks to this tutorial you should get there in just a few minutes. We’ll also show you how to properly back up all of your footage before you start, so you don’t lose everything.

Instagram is the social network for sharing photos and videos which has more than a billion users worldwide. Excluding messaging applications, it is the second most used social network in the world behind Facebook (2.6 billion) and ahead of TikTok (800 million users). As such, Instagram is a great platform for influencers of all stripes.

But better to follow some tips on Instagram to develop your account, under penalty of stagnating with few followers. Sometimes the very functioning of Instagram can confuse some users. This is also two of the reasons why many people test the application and its filters for a while, before moving on to something else. But that might not be your case.

Some do not hesitate to create accounts according to occasions or events. This can be a great idea for promoting it or allowing a group of people to view photos of an event. Except that in this case, we don’t necessarily want to let this kind of accounts live ad vitam aeternam. We explain how to deactivate or delete your Instagram account because both possibilities are available to you.

How to temporarily deactivate an Instagram account

A first option is to temporarily deactivate an Instagram account. Your account, its photos and followers will then be simply hidden from the network. But nothing will be really deleted, and it will be very easy for you to reactivate the account at a later date, in principle without time limit. Here’s the procedure to follow :

  • Go to Instagram.com from a web browser (for your convenience, it will probably be easier from your computer).
  • Log in with the account you would like to deactivate
  • Click on your profile picture at the top, far right.
  • Click the option Profile from the drop-down menu.
  • Then on Edit profile on the page that opens, right next to the profile photo and name.
  • Unwind completely at the bottom of the next page and click on the button Temporarily deactivate my account.Deactivate Instagram account
  • Choose a reason from the drop-down menu
  • Enter your account password in the field below
  • Click on the big red button Temporarily deactivate my account to confirmr.

You can reactivate your account at any time, simply by reconnecting to Instagram with your username and password.

How to permanently delete your Instagram account

If you’ve made the decision to delete an Instagram account, know that you can’t go back: your subscribers and followers will be lost forever. Fortunately, if you want to keep your memories, it is still possible. Thanks to the GDPR, all social networks allow users to retrieve all their data whenever they want. Discover how to upload all your photos, videos and other data to Instagram before continuing to the next steps.

After recovering a copy of your data, do the following:

Instagram belonging to Facebook since 2012, if you want to break free from the largest social network in the world, we explain here how to delete your Facebook account. When you no longer use some of your social accounts, it always feels good to do a little cleaning, right?

Source link

Leave a Reply