In this article, we’ll see how to delete your LinkedIn account or temporarily deactivate it. When you delete your LinkedIn account, all of your contacts and information will be removed from the site.
You can delete your LinkedIn account from the Settings & Privacy page. When you delete your account, LinkedIn will delete your account information within seven days. Your public LinkedIn profile may still be visible on search engines until the caches are updated.
LinkedIn is a social media site like no other. Instead of encouraging you to post selected photos from your fabulous life or endlessly scrolling through random memes, LinkedIn is focusing on networking for professionals with a passion for their careers.
That said, LinkedIn isn’t for everyone and you can only join the site to decide later that you don’t want to use it anymore. If so, you will need to know how to completely delete your LinkedIn account. Here’s how to close your LinkedIn account or temporarily “hibernate” your account.
So let’s see how to unsubscribe from LinkedIn:
- V.ai al LinkedIn website and log in with your username and password.
- Once logged in, click on the option the, which appears just below your profile picture in the menu bar at the top of the screen.
- In the drop-down menu that appears, click Settings and privacy.
- In the menu on the left of the screen, click on the tab Account Preferences and select Account management in the displayed submenu.
- In the Account Management section, click Edit to the side of Close the account. If you are not ready to completely delete your account, you can also choose the account hibernation option, which will temporarily disable it.
- On the next page, you will be asked to confirm your willingness to close your account, along with the reason for your decision. You can also fill out a comments box to share additional comments or concerns with LinkedIn. When you are finished, click After you. If you have a Premium membership, you will need to revert to a Basic membership before you can close your account.
- Then you will be asked to re-enter your password to complete the removal process. Fill it in and click Close the account to delete the LinkedIn account.
How to become a digital marketer
What happens after deleting your LinkedIn account
LinkedIn takes up to seven days to remove all of your information from its servers. However, as soon as you delete your account, all your contacts and profile information will be deleted.
This means that if you do decide to come back to LinkedIn in the future, you will need to create a whole new profile and rebuild your recommendations and connections from scratch.
That said, even after those seven days have passed, you may still be able to see your LinkedIn account on search engines like Google and Bing. This is because search engines update more slowly than individual websites. Just give them a few weeks and the search engines will eventually clear their caches and update their results.
LinkedIn allows you to download a copy of your data before deletion, if you want to keep information after closing your account.