Instagram is one of the largest social media platforms with over 1 billion active users worldwide. It’s a great place to share your photos with your friends and other users, but there comes a time when you just don’t want to spend your time on the platform. If you’ve reached this point and are looking for a way to get rid of your Instagram account, we can help. In this complete guide, you will learn how to deactivate Instagram account on Android and iOS. Let’s start.
Instagram does not allow you to directly delete your account from the Instagram app. So if you want to remove it, you will have to go through the Help Center. Once you are in the Help Center, just type in “How to delete my Instagram account” and you will get a page that explains what happens when you delete your account and how you can do it. Let’s say the whole process in detail.
How to deactivate Instagram account on Android and IOS?
If you want to permanently deactivate your Instagram account, this section is for you. Once you delete your account, Instagram will delete all of your data including your photos, videos, comments, likes, and followers from its database. You will also not be able to access your account once it is deleted.
The process of deactivating an Instagram account is the same on Android and IOS. So, no matter what device you are using, you can deactivate your Instagram account by following these steps.
- Open your Instagram app and tap on your profile picture in the lower right corner.
- Now that you are on the profile page, tap on the three horizontal lines icon in the upper right corner, and the menu will appear.
- Tap the icon Settings at the bottom of the menu.
- In the settings, go to thehelp and press it.
- Now press Help pages and open it in the browser of your choice.
- You can also directly open the Help Center by typing Help.instagram.com in the browser.
- Once you are in the Help Center, type How to delete my Instagram account.
- Open the page, find the Delete your account page and press it.
- The system will now ask you to confirm your identity by entering your password.
- Press on Permanently delete my account and your account will be deleted.
How to temporarily deactivate your Instagram account on Android and IOS?
If you don’t want to permanently delete your Instagram account, you can temporarily deactivate it. When you temporarily deactivate your account, Instagram hides all your data from others until you reactivate your account.
If you want to temporarily deactivate your Instagram account, you can follow these steps. You can only temporarily deactivate your account from the browser or computer. So make sure your Instagram account is open on the browser.
- Open Instagram.com on your browser and sign in.
- Tap your profile picture in the top right corner and select Profile.
- Now press Edit profile.
- Scroll down and find Temporarily deactivate my account and press it.
- Now enter the reason you are deactivating your account and confirm your identity by entering your password.
- Once you have entered the password, press Temporarily deactivate the account.
Your account is now deactivated and all your data is hidden from other Instagram users. If you want to reactivate it, simply enter your login credentials on Instagram.com, and your account will be reactivated.
What happens when you turn off your Instagram?
When you permanently deactivate your Instagram account, all your data including your photos, videos, likes, followers and saved data will be deleted from the Instagram database.
However, if you temporarily deactivate your account, your data will be hidden for now, and once you reactivate your account, it will become visible to other users.
How can I recover my deleted Instagram account?
If you have permanently deleted your Instagram account, there is no way to get it back. Even Instagram management can’t get it back.
Will I lose my followers if I deactivate my Instagram account?
If you decide to permanently delete your Instagram account, then yes, your followers will be lost and you will not be able to recover your account.
But, if you temporarily deactivate your account, your followers will not be lost and you will find them when you reactivate your account.
Is my Instagram account deleted if I delete the Instagram app?
No, if you uninstall the Instagram app from your smartphone, your account will not be deleted. You will still be able to access all your data via a browser. Or, you can just reinstall the app and log in with your username and password to access the account.
Is disabling Instagram a good idea?
It mainly depends on your plans for the future. If you do this for a short time and plan to come back soon, you can temporarily deactivate your Instagram account.
However, if you’re sure you’re not coming back to Instagram, you can permanently deactivate your account. But still, we recommend that you temporarily deactivate your account and give yourself some time. After a few weeks, if you still think that you don’t want to keep your Instagram account, you can reactivate your account and delete it permanently.
This is how you can deactivate Instagram account on Android and iOS. We’ve shared the methods you can use to temporarily or permanently delete your Instagram accounts. If you have any questions, please let us know in the comments section below. Additionally, if you are interested in more how-to guides, you can explore our Instagram section.