How to close apps on iPhone 12

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp


Restart unresponsive apps – but don’t do this to save battery

Closing apps on the iPhone 12 is easy. It only takes a few clicks. But there are major misconceptions about when to close apps and what apps are for. This article explains both how and when to close apps.

Closing applications is sometimes also referred to as “quitting applications”, “force applications” or “force quitting applications”.

To understand how and why to close apps, you need to understand a little bit how apps work on iPhone 12. When you’re not using an app, it goes in the background and freezes. This means that the app uses relatively little battery and is probably not using any data. There are two small caveats: some apps may ask the system to give it a certain amount of time to complete a task or to continue running because that is the purpose of the app (think music, mapping apps, etc. and communication).

Nonetheless, there are a few reasons why you might want to close an app or two. We will come back to this in the next section. To close apps on iPhone 12, follow these steps:

  1. From any screen on iPhone 12 (the home screen or an app), swipe up at the bottom of the screen. You can sweep as far as you want, but about 25% of the height is sufficient.
  2. This reveals all the apps that are running on your iPhone 12.
  3. Go back and forth to see all the apps.
  4. When you find the one you want to stop, drag it up and off the screen. When it disappears from the screen, the application is closed. You can stop two or three applications at a time. You just need to run them all at the same time using more than one finger.
  5. Three is the maximum number of apps you can close at the same time on iPhone 12. There is no built-in way to clear all apps at once.

When you need to stop apps – it’s not to save iPhone battery

As mentioned above, apps that aren’t in use are frozen in the background, and frozen apps don’t use data or battery. This means that a frozen application is, in most cases, the same as an application that has been closed and is not working at all. The main difference is that a frozen app restarts faster than a closed app when you launch it.

Because of this, the only time you should close or quit an iPhone app is when it isn’t working properly. In this case, quitting and restarting the application can often resolve a temporary bug, similar to how restart your iPhone.

But what about dropping apps to save battery power? A lot of people think that apps that are in the background are using batteries and by giving them up, your battery will last longer. This is not true.

In fact, shutting down apps that are frozen in the background not only helps save battery life, but can actually reduce your battery life.

So, unless an app isn’t working properly, you can leave it frozen in the background until you need to use it again.



Source link

Leave a Reply

Related Posts

Table of Contents