How to automatically empty the trash in macOS

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp


Most of the time when we delete something from our computer, it goes to the trash or trash. This is where it will stay until you manually empty it. However, did you know that until you empty them, deleted items still take up disk storage space on your computer? This is why it is important to empty it from time to time.

If you’re using a Mac computer, there’s actually a pretty easy way to automatically empty the Trash on a schedule, and here’s what you need to do to set it up.

READ ALSO: How to use Windows apps on a Mac

How to Empty Trash on Mac Every 30 Days

  1. Sure Finder on your Mac, choose Finder> Preferences , then click Advanced
  2. Select “Delete items from recycle bin after 30 days”.
  3. Repeat the above steps if you want to return to manual mode

Note that the wording can be interpreted in several ways, where it would suggest that the bin is emptied every 30 days. However, this is not the case. What this really means is that whenever you delete an item and it goes into your Trash, it won’t be deleted from the Trash until 30 days after it was initially deleted.

We should also point out that regardless of your preferences or settings, items in your Trash that have been placed there after being deleted from iCloud Drive will be automatically emptied after 30 days. The steps we mentioned above to set up a calendar only work with local files stored on your computer.

That pretty much means for anything you delete that goes into the trash, you have a 30 day window in which you can choose to restore the item in case you change your mind.

How to restore items from Trash on Mac

In case there is an item that you mistakenly deleted, it’s a fairly straightforward process to put it back and restore it. However, this only works if the item is still in your Trash, but if it has been permanently deleted from the Trash, you’re out of luck except to restore a previously backed up Mac.

  1. Click on the icon Basket in your Dock
  2. Drag the item from the basket on the desktop or select the item and navigate to File> Reset where the file will then be restored to its original location



Source link

Leave a Reply