Help! My Facebook account has been hacked

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on whatsapp


Take back control of your Facebook account

Facebook and its more than 2 billion active users are an attractive target for hackers. Some of the more successful hacks appear in the news, but many hacks are smaller and affect only certain Facebook users.

The indicators that someone may have hacked your Facebook account are as follows:

  • Your email or password has changed.
  • Your name or birthday has changed.
  • Friend requests have been sent from your account to people you don’t know.
  • Friend requests have been sent to people who are already your friends.
  • Posts you didn’t create appear to be from you.
  • Your friends are getting messages from you that you haven’t written.

If any of these telltale signs happen to you, or if you notice any other unusual activity, take quick action to protect your account.

When you think your Facebook account may have been hacked, change your password before doing anything else. If you no longer have access to your Facebook account, immediately follow the steps outlined below.

We have prepared step-by-step instructions for changing your Facebook password, shared at the bottom of this page.

Hackers may have gained access to your Facebook account in several ways.

They might have guessed your password, or they may have set up an Evil Twin Wi-Fi hotspot in a coffee shop and stole your credentials thanks to a man-in-the-middle attack. Perhaps you left your account logged into a computer lab at your school or library, or hackers could use your account from a stolen tablet or phone.

Regardless of how they managed to get your Facebook credentials, the best thing you can do is move quickly to limit the amount of damage and try to prevent further hacks.

Report a compromise to Facebook

When you can’t access your Facebook account, you can always report a possible hack to the company and get help resetting your password:

  1. Open the page From account compromise to report Facebook.
  2. Click on My account is compromised.
  3. Enter the phone number or email address associated with your account, then click Research.
  4. Type your current or old password, then click Continue.
  5. Select one of the options from the list that indicates why you think your account has been hacked, and then click Continue.
  6. Facebook explains that you need to change your password and confirm that recent changes to your account came from you to keep your account secure. Click on Start.
  7. Follow the instructions provided to secure your account and change your password.

Alert your friends

Tell your Facebook friends that your account has been hacked. Warn them not to click on any links that might come from your account while it has been hacked and out of your control.

Hackers who have compromised your account may have posted on your friends’ pages or sent links in comments or private messages.

Remove unknown apps from your account

Eliminate any Facebook apps installed on your account that you don’t recognize. While you’re at it, delete the apps you no longer use. At some point, you may have granted apps access to some of your personal information.

  1. Open the Facebook menu by clicking on the arrow in the upper right corner.
  2. Click on Settings.
  3. Click on Apps and Websites from the left pane.
  4. Check the box next to the Facebook apps you want to remove, then click Remove.
  5. Click again Delete on the confirmation prompt. You also have the option to delete every post, photo and video that apps have posted on your behalf.

If you click on View and edit on an app, it displays the level of access it has to your account and the information Facebook shares with it.

Also on applications and Website page are additional tabs at the top where you can find expired apps (apps which had access to both but their permissions have since expired) and past apps (which have been removed from your account).

Remove unknown apps from your account

Deleted or expired apps still have the information shared with them while the apps were active, but they can no longer access that information from your Facebook account after it expires or is deleted.

Clicking on the tile for a deleted or expired app tells you the best method to ask the app to delete your information.

Prevention: Allow two-factor authentication

Don’t wait for the next hack to take action to improve your Facebook security and privacy. To prevent your account from being compromised again, Facebook strongly recommends enabling Facebook’s two-factor authentication.

Enabling this feature requires an additional form of authentication beyond your password when someone attempts to log into your account. The second form of authentication can be a digital code sent to your phone, or a code generated by a separate authenticator app on your phone, or a smart key inserted into your computer’s USB drive.

When you have two-factor authorization in place, someone could have full access to your password, but unless they also have your second means of authentication (like your phone or a physical token) , he cannot access your Facebook account.

To enable two-factor authentication on your Facebook account:

  1. Click the down arrow in the top right corner of Facebook to access the menu.
  2. Click on Settings.
  3. Click on Security and Connection in the left pane.
  4. Click on Change to side to use two-factor authentication.
  5. Click on Start.
  6. Select message text or application authentication,then click on next.
  7. If you choose Text message,enter the code in the fields provided. If you choose the authentication application,launch it on your phone and follow the instructions.
  8. Click on Finish when you see two-factor authentication is in message.

Beware of relying only on text-based solutions for two-factor authentication. In addition to sim spoofing (in which someone gets the phone company to reassign your number to another device), if you lose access to your phone or change your phone number, you will need help to regain access.

Prevention: Security check under review

Facebook’s Security Check feature adds additional security to your account. Use security checkup to:

  • Sign out of Facebook and Messenger from unused browsers and apps.
  • Receive an alert when someone signs in to your account from an unrecognized device or mobile computer.

Prevention: Change your Facebook password regularly

It is a good practice to reset your password regularly. You can do this at any time.

  1. Launch the facebook menu from the down arrow in the top right corner of the page.
  2. Click on Settings.
  3. Click on Security and Connection in the left pane.
  4. Click on Edit beside switch the password in the Connection section of the central pane.
  5. Enter your current password at side of Current,type a new password in the new field, then type in the new password once more to confirm in the new text box re-type.
  6. Click on Save changes.




Source link

Leave a Reply