You can delete a Snap before it’s even opened
When you take photos or videos to send to your friends on Snapchat, there is no way to undo them once they have been sent. The only thing you can do is delete the message, but there is no 100% guarantee that the recipient will not see it.
Since chat messages are automatically deleted as soon as you leave the chat, the following instructions assume that you currently have a chat open with a friend or a group.
These can be traced back to the iOS and Android versions of Snapchat.
- In the “Chat” tab, press and hold your finger on the message you sent and want to delete.
- Press on Remove.
- Touch the purple button Remove to confirm that you want to delete it. Remember that your friends in the chat will be able to see that you have deleted something.
There is no guarantee that your friends will not see your post, even if you delete it. They might get ahead of you and end up seeing the message if they were quick enough. Snapchat also notes that deletion may not always work under certain circumstances, such as if a friend has a bad internet connection or is using an older version of the app.
Why can’t you undo photos and videos?
In older versions of the Snapchat app, users discovered some tricks that worked for unsent photos or videos. They discovered that they could sometimes be successful in sending snaps:
- Activation of airplane mode;
- Remove the recipient of the snapshot from the sender’s friends list;
- Blocking the snapshot recipient;
- Disconnecting the sender’s account
- Uninstalling the app from the sender’s device; and
- Deactivate or delete your account (that of the sender).
These tricks might have worked back then, but that is no longer the case with newer versions of the app. As soon as you send a snapshot, it gets uploaded to Snapchat’s cloud-based system.
As soon as a recipient opens a snap they have received from a friend or a group of friends, it is automatically deleted from Snapchat’s servers. Any action you try to do on your end after sending a snap won’t work because the snap has already reached the cloud.
The only time you can actually undo (delete) a photo or video is when it shows up as a story on Snapchat. If you have taken a photo or video and posted it in your articles, you will be able to delete it by viewing the article, clicking on it and pressing the icon in the basket. If you also sent it to friends / groups as a normal snapshot, you won’t be able to delete or undo it.
What can you refuse on Snapchat?
Although you cannot undo photos or videos, you can undo other types of content. The term “send”, however, is not entirely appropriate to describe this type of content. “Clear” is more appropriate.
Snapchat’s “Clear Chats” feature allows users to delete messages they have sent to individuals or groups of friends. Chat is the thread of messages and interactions that you see when you tap the name of the friend or group in your Conversations tab.
Clear Chats is different from Clear Snapchat Conversations, which simply removes your recent interactions with friends and groups from your Conversations tab.
You can remove any of the following from your chats
- Stickers (including Bitmoji stickers);
- audio messages; and
- Photos and videos sent from the Memories tab (such as those saved or downloaded from your device).
Your friends will be able to see that you deleted something in the chat.